News items related to mining history are added by members. The AMHA welcomes relevant items
of interest from members and others interested in mining history.

International Summit
on Derelict Mines

Location: Singleton.
When: 6-8th December


Know More


At the recent 22nd Australasian Mining History Conference in Cobar, Barry Knight and Kay Stingemore presented the vision and plans for a memorial to the 181 miners killed in mines in the Cobar area and also to numerous others who died prematurely form injuries and disease as a result of working in the mines. Many of these miners now lie in unmarked graves with no memorial or recognition. If you would like more information about the memorial and details of how you can contribute to help fund this memorial see
Cober Miners Memorial Details.

Australian Historical Association Prizes 2015-2016 – At a glance


This biennial $10,000 prize is kindly donated by Professor Emerita Susan Magarey, and is administered and judged by a panel established by the Australian Historical Association and the Association for the Study of Australian Literature. It is awarded to the female person who has published the work judged to be the best biographical writing on an Australian subject in 2014 or 2015.

The Allan Martin Award is a research fellowship to assist early career historians further their research in Australian history. The biennial award of up to $4,000 will assist with the expenses of a research trip undertaken in Australia or overseas in support of a project in Australian history. Applicants are
required to show how the research is essential to the completion of their project and how the findings will be published or otherwise made available to
the public. It must be spent within two years.

This Award is sponsored by members and associates of the Australian Historical Association, the University of Tasmania, and the Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority. Consisting of a $1,500 prize and citation, it recognises outstanding original research with a bearing on Australian convict history and heritage including in its international context, published in 2014 or 2015.

The W.K. Hancock Prize was instituted in 1987 by the Australian Historical Association to honour the contribution to the study and writing of history in Australia by Sir Keith Hancock. Offering a $2,000 prize and citation, it is intended to give recognition and encouragement to an Australian scholar who has published a first scholarly book in any field of history in 2014 or 2015.

The Serle Award is a biennial prize established through the generosity of Mrs Jessie Serle to honour the contribution to Australian history of her former husband, Dr Geoffrey Serle, for the best postgraduate thesis in Australian History awarded during the previous two years. The $2,500 biennial award may be used as a publication subsidy or to subsidise other costs associated with transforming the thesis into a book, such as the cost of carrying out extra
research, funding permissions, copyright fees or illustrations: these examples are not exhaustive.


The Jill Roe Prize is an annual prize established by the AHA to honour the career of Professor Emerita Jill Roe, an eminent Australian historian who has made a very significant contribution to the writing, teaching and public communication of history in Australia and abroad. The Jill Roe Prize will be awarded annually for the best unpublished article-length work (5,000-8,000 words) of historical research in any area of historical enquiry, produced by a postgraduate student enrolled for a History degree at an Australian university.

National Archives of Australia/Australian Historical Association scholarships
NAA/AHA scholarships assist talented postgraduate scholars with the cost of copying records held in the Archives. Assistance with digital copying costs will provide access to material that might not otherwise be possible. Four scholarships worth $650 each will be awarded annually.

AHA/Copyright Agency Travel and Writing Bursaries
This funding opportunity for postgraduate students and independent historians encourages and supports emerging historians who would otherwise be unable to attend the annual AHA conference. Ten bursaries, of $700 each, will cover travel and accommodation for participants at the AHA conference at the Federation University Ballarat, 4-8 July 2016; the conference registration fee will be waived for bursary recipients.

Please see the AHA website for full details of prizes including eligibility and deadlines.